For more information on Southern's ADA Compliance efforts, please visit our Accessibility Page

Members of the Clark County Quorum Court unanimously approved in a meeting Monday night the appointment of five persons to lead the Economic Development Corp. of Clark County.

The appointees are: Euodias Goza, Conner Eldridge, Frances Eason-Nelson, Becky Jester and Randy Sorrells. The court also approved the appointment of 15 non-voting members who will serve as an advisory committee to the board. They are: Wendell Ketchum, Joyce Palla, Tom Calhoon, Rosboro Hendrix Jr., Wesley Kluck, William Wright, Lewis Shepherd Jr., Tommy Roebuck, Randall Turner, Ricky Norton, Sherry Kelley, Damon Daniels, Phillip Baldwin, Billy Tarpley and Billy Bunn.

Under state law, any state representatives and senators whose district lies in Clark County are also members of the advisory board, said Todd Turner, the county’s attorney.

Several justices expressed their appreciation of county Judge Ron Daniell’s choices for the board. “I appreciate the amount of effort he put into this,” Justice of the Peace Jerry Buck said.

JP Wayne Bowen said, “It’s a good list (of people) for Clark County.”

Buck also encouraged the other members of the court and those in attendance to support the board and the work they will be doing. “We just need to support them and encourage them to get going,” he said.

Daniell said he has spoken with Flave Carpenter Jr., an Arkadelphia native who now works with Entergy’s economic development program. Carpenter will come to Arkadelphia to help members of the EDC become familiar with their duties as economic developers.

That meeting will be scheduled as soon as possible, Daniell said.

Earlier in the meeting, justices reviewed the by-laws of the corporation, which set the rules for the board and advisors as prescribed by state law. The by-laws include a section which specifies members can be replaced if more than two meetings are missed. The board can decide whether or not to excuse the absence of a fellow member.

Justices approved the by-laws and a resolution approving the form and content of the articles of incorporation for the EDC. Once the documents are filed by the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office, the corporation is formed, Turner said.

In other business, the court approved two resolutions. The first authorizing Daniell to enter into an agreement with West Central Arkansas Planning and Development District, which will allow the district to seek a grant on behalf of Alumacraft Inc., a local boat manufacturer.

The second resolution, sponsored by Bowen, allowed the court to pledge its support to members of the National Guard and Army Reserves.

Daniell also appointed justices Frances McGill, Orville Buck, Brown Hardman and Albert Neal to serve as this year’s budget committee.

The court also approved on second reading two ordinances. The first sets up and identifies special accounts within the county’s financial records.

The second designates the county clerk as the “preparer of the tax books” for the county for audit purposes.